Big Wheels (The Bios)

The YHHAP Board

Annie Cheng, Director: Annie is a junior studying Ethnicity, Race and Migration and Political Science. She founded the Restaurant Rescue Project and now runs their youth nutrition workshop series. Beyond YHHAP, she is highly involved in the Yale International Relations Association as a member of the competitive Model UN team and a conference director. She loves food and earth and sustainability, and the intersections of the three. She considers the highest form of gastronomical excellence — in any cuisine — to come on a greasy napkin, piping hot fresh from a street vendor. Find her at annie.cheng@yale.edu!

Dalton Boyt, Director: Dalton is a junior Economics major in Berkeley College, from Bakersfield, CA. He is involved with No Closed Doors, and serves as the project head for Project Homeless Connect. Outside of YHHAP, he is a member of the Yale Debate Association and works as an Aide for Berkeley College. In his free time, Dalton loves running, hiking, and camping. If you have any questions about PHC, YHHAP, or want to talk about Alt-Rock, Contact him at dalton.boyt@yale.edu

Jackson Willis, Chair: Jackson is a senior from St. Petersburg (“The Sunshine City”), Florida, majoring in Humanities and Economics & Mathematics. He is a Fellow of the Yale Institution of Social and Policy Studies, Yale Center for British Art Guide, and arts contributor to The Politic. A former YHHAP Director and long-time Board member, he also volunteers for YHHAP Projects the Book Exchange, New Haven Cares, and VITA. When he can find a piano out of earshot, he plays it. When he can find an unmarked trail, he takes it. A passionate, but lost volunteer? jackson.willis@yale.edu.

Simon Cooper, Treasurer: Simon, a sophomore in Ezra Stiles, is from Nashville, TN. He’s incredibly excited to be involved with YHHAP as membership coordinator. Outside YHHAP, he’s co-coordinating Dwight Hall’s First-years in Service, writing and editing for The Politic, competing on MUNTY, helping with YMUN, finance-managing for the UOC, and pretending to do club swimming. He spends free time sleeping, reading, or trying to figure out how to be like Annie Cheng. He loves email: simon.cooper@yale.edu.

Rebecca Yan, Membership Chair: Rebecca is a junior in TD majoring in Economics and Global Affairs. She is excited to serve as YHHAP's Membership Chair. Outside YHHAP, she is in Yale Student Investment Group and works as a Student Organizations Consultant for the YCDO. She was formerly a Production & Design editor at the Yale Daily News and Communications Director of the Yale College Council. In her free time, she likes to run to East Rock, eat Arethusa, and think about how much warmer it must be at home in Atlanta, GA. She can be reached at rebecca.yan@yale.edu

Lauren LaMonica, Advocacy Chair: Lauren is a senior in Jonathan Edwards College from Boston, MA. She is studying Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and is a student in the 5-year BS/MPH program at the School of Public Health, but she also enjoys having overly-excited conversations about Classics (especially the Aeneid!). Lauren is the co-president of A Leg Even, an organization that provides academic and professional support to first generation and low-income Yale students, as well as a 1yvG coordinator, the Inter-Ivy First Generation College Student Network. Outside of YHHAP Lauren founded HomelessHope.net, a non-profit organization in Boston that connects the homeless community with access to food, shelter, and healthcare resources. Contact her at lauren.lamonica@yale.edu

Carina Gormley, Advocacy Chair: Carina Gormley is a junior in Morse College who is enthusiastically pursuing a major in architecture, while focusing on urban studies. Although born in Houston and raised in Boston, she enjoys learning how to "be a local" everywhere she goes. Smiles and hugs will always be reciprocated, and she'd love nothing more than to walk and chat about foreign language education, arts and crafts, social sciences, the psychology behind the built environment, and everything in between! She can be reached at carina.gormley@yale.edu.

Emily Locke, Communications Chair: Emily Locke is a senior in Silliman from Seattle, WA. She is a Theater Studies and American Studies double major, with a concentration in politics and American communities. She currently serves as YHHAP's Communications Chair, and outside of YHHAP is involved in theater at Yale and is a Silliman aide. In her free time she enjoys writing, singing, and running/swimming/yoga/kickboxing. Contact her at: emily.locke@yale.edu

Everest Fang, Projects Chair: Everest Fang is a junior in Ezra Stiles from Salt Lake City, Utah studying Economics and Mathematics. He enjoys rock climbing and skiing. He is also involved with the Yale Herald and the UP Fund. Reach him at everest.fang@yale.edu. 

Nishanth Krishnan, Community Chair: Nishanth is a sophomore from San Diego, CA, studying Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology. At a given moment, you can find him volunteering at No Closed Doors, planting vegetables on the Yale Farm, or doing research at the Yale School of Medicine. If not, he’s probably drinking excessive coffee at Blue State or making music in the TD basement. Reach out to him at nishanth.krishnan@yale.edu.

Renee Tung, Outreach Chair: Renee is a sophomore in Ezra Stiles college from Clarksville, Maryland. She is a project head for the Restaurant Rescue Project and also helps out with Project Homelessness Connect. Outside of YHHAP, Renee is involved in the Hypertension Awareness and Prevention Program at Yale (HAPPY), the Helix Group, FOCUS on New Haven, the Piano Collective, and Danceworks (and perhaps research and hospital volunteering). In her free time, she enjoys miscellaneous volunteer work, being that annoying person playing piano in the common room, attempting IM sports, event-hopping, and playing cards. Feel free to contact her about anything at renee.tung@yale.edu. 

Bishoy Megalla, Fundraising Chair: Bishoy Megalla is a sophomore in Berkeley from Jersey City, NJ who is studying Economics with a potential double major in History. Bishoy is the Fundraising Chair of the Yale Hunger and Homelessness Action Project (YHHAP). Other than his position in YHHAP, Bishoy is a Site Coordinator for the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) and Director of Marketing for the ElmSeed Enterprise Fund. When he's not cramming in Bass, you can find Bishoy procrastinating in his dorm, losing in Mario Kart, or blasting Hamilton. He can be contacted at bishoy.megalla@yale.edu.

YHHAP Project Heads

Hannah Weinstein, John Agoh, Courtney Green, and Rebecca Amonor, Yale Community Kitchen: Bio coming soon. Reach them at hannah.weinstein@yale.edu, john.agoh@yale.edu, courtney.green@yale.edu, rebecca.amonor@yale.edu.

Megan Ahern, Michelle Santos, Jason Paz, Kitchen to Kitchen: Bio coming soon. Reach them at megan.ahern@yale.edu, jason.paz@yale.edu, and michelle.santos@yale.edu. 

Renee Tung + Amy Zhang, Restaurant Rescue Project: Bio coming soon. Reach them at renee.tung@yale.edu and amy.zhang.az336@yale.edu.

Paul Banegura and Jasmine Liu, VITA: Bio coming soon. Reach them at paul.banegura@yale.edu and jasmine.liu@yale.edu.

Sophie Neely, Elm City Echo. Bio coming soon. Reach her at sophie.neely@yale.edu.

Maddy Batt, Elm City Echo: Maddy Batt is a sophomore in Ezra Stiles from Boston, MA. She studies political science and human rights. Currently, she serves as an Editor-in-Chief of Elm City Echo, and has previously volunteered as a Site Leader for the periodical. In addition to the Echo, Maddy is a member of the contemporary a cappella group Out of the Blue, a Dwight Hall Urban Fellow, and an events journalist for the Schell Center for International Human Rights. She also likes to show people pictures of her dog. You can contact her at madeline.batt@yale.edu.

Khush Dhaliwal, Elm City Echo: Khush Dhaliwal is a junior in Morse College from Norwalk, CT and a Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology major. She currently is one of the Editors-in-Chief of the Elm City Echo, as well as a volunteer at the HAVEN Free Clinic and the Living History Project. She also works in an immunology research laboratory at the Yale School of Medicine. In her free time, she loves to bike and try out new foods. You can contact her at khushwant.dhaliwal@yale.edu.

Everast Fang, No Closed Doors: Everest Fang, also a YHHAP board member as Projects Chair, is a junior in Ezra Stiles from Salt Lake City, Utah studying Economics and Mathematics. He enjoys rock climbing and skiing. He is also involved with the Yale Herald and the UP Fund. Reach him at everest.fang@yale.edu. 

XXXXXX, Book Exchange: 

Cove Geary, Clothing Closet: Cove is a first-year in Stiles hailing from Mandeville, Lousiana. Your guess regarding Cove's future major is as good as his, but outside of YHHAP he is a team member of the Yale Computer Society and the Yale Climbing Team. He also loves to play the piano in his free time. You can reliably find Cove in the Math Lounge on Thursday nights or on Old Campus whenever there is a friendly dog around. Feel free to contact him at cove.geary@yale.edu.

Vanessa Liu, Abraham's Tent: Bio coming soon. Reach out to her at vanessa.liu@yale.edu.

Abhishek Srinivas, Project Homeless Connect: Bio coming soon. Reach out to him at abhishek.srinivas@yale.edu. 

Aki Dadda, The Fast: Bio coming soon. Reach out to her at aki.dadda@yale.edu.