Y2Y New Haven

Y2Y.jpg
 

our mission:

To open a student-run overnight program for young adults experiencing homelessness in New Haven.

y2y%2Bphoto.jpg

Y2Y New Haven is a joint initiative of youth and staff from Youth Continuum, student leaders from across New Haven, and Y2Y Network to open a student-run overnight program for young adults (ages 18-24) in greater New Haven.

Y2Y New Haven is based on the youth-to-youth model employed by Y2Y Harvard Square, the nation’s first student-run youth homeless shelter which has served over 300 young people since it opened in Cambridge, MA in 2015. Young adults often experience homelessness because of abusive or neglectful families, rejection due to their sexual orientation and gender identity, or because they've aged out of the foster care system. Many youth feel unsafe staying in adult shelters, resorting instead to couch surfing, sleeping outside, or engaging in unsafe behavior in exchange for a place to sleep.

Y2Y's model focuses on introducing youth to a vibrant and welcoming environment with comprehensive pathways out of homelessness and opportunities for leadership development.


 

816 youth

(ages 18-24) in the greater new haven area are estimated to be experiencing homelessness, according to the connecticut coalition to end homelessness.

Yet only

12 emergency beds

exist in New Haven that are dedicated to youth (provided by Y2Y New Haven’s partner, Youth Continuum).

 

How to get involved:

Help plan the future for New Haven youth.

Y2Y+New+Haven+team.jpg

Y2Y New Haven is made up of seven different workstream areas: Pilot Program, Program Model Development, Advocacy and Publicity, Fundraising and Finance, New Haven Organizing, Design and Architecture, and Team Culture. We recruit new members at the beginning of each semester.

Please email y2ynewhaven@gmail.com to be added to our monthly newsletter, where we'll also release our application links.

the 2019-2020 y2y new Haven board:

Advocacy & Publicity: Dyuthi Mathews Tharakan* YC ‘22, dyuthi.mathewstharakan@yale.edu

Organizational Structure: Becca Schapiro* YC ‘19/MPH ‘20, rebecca.schapiro@yale.edu

Finance and Fundraising: Sarah Jho* YC ‘20, sarah.jho@yale.edu & Valerie Yang* YC ‘20, valerie.yang@yale.edu

Pilot Program: Esther Ritchin* YC ‘20, esther.ritchin@yale.edu

Program Model: Nicky Brussel Faria* YC ‘21, nicole.brusselfaria@yale.edu - Coordinator

Program Model: Shunella Lumas* Yale MD ‘20, shunella.lumas@yale.edu - Service

Program Model: Lauryn Phinney* YC ‘21, lauryn.phinney@yale.edu - Policy

Team Culture: Ivy Fan* YC ‘21, ivy.fan@yale.edu

New Haven Organizing: Diana Saavedra YC ‘20, diana.saavedra@yale.edu

Design & Architecture: Ashley (Ash) Pales YC ‘20,  ashley.pales@yale.edu

*Indicates Steering Committee Members